baby steps (Part I)

the inevitable first post…
I guess now would be a good time to celebrate a birthday.

It’s been a little over a year now since Lavender was released to the world.

This was my first collaboration with Gowe and it’s currently my favorite track from Gowe’s sophomore effort Music Beautiful. The beat itself was one of those rare ideas that manifested effortlessly, Gowe brought his otherworldly flow, and the combination formed something incredible.

The original name for the instrumental was Remind Me Why. Following the last remaining days of 2013 after Christmas, I was a young catechumen still feeble in faith and understanding, but I decided to leave my prior identity as a secular producer behind me and use my gifts to glorify our Creator. Christ called me to lay down my idolatry and identity in music and follow Him. Trembling, I made this tune and prayed, “Adonai, remind me why.”

 

