baby steps (Part III)

It’s January 2017 and what jogs my mind is that I’m beginning to intuit that enigma called adulthood. (Mind you, I didn’t say parenthood.)

At the moment, I’m in my mid-20s and acutely aware of having been pushed out of the “age 18-24” bracket to the “25-40” lot in every questionnaire. I’m also morbidly lucid of the fact that the years are zipping by at an accelerating pace.

I’ve entered a realm where teachers can now be called friends, friends can now be called brothers, responsibilities abound, and the things sown in previous years are beginning to bear much fruit.

So the following verse has been bearing upon me:

Do not be deceived, God is not mocked; for whatever a man sows, that he will also reap. (Galatians 6:7 NKJV)

Dostoyevsky said the second half of life is made up of nothing but the habits acquired during the first half. Lord willing, may the future bear a different testimony to that of my misspent youth!

O Lord, redeem the past, that these sighs may turn to songs of praise. Remind me that my days are few and fleeting, that I may gain a heart of wisdom. Amen.

